The Doodle Project is back!

One of my favorite aspects of this community is its camaraderie and collaborative nature. Each year we seem to be graced with a new collaborative project where random artists from around the globe team up to make something great, together.

There’s no telling why these projects have become so popular. Maybe it’s a direct response to the commercial nature of our industry and these projects have become an outlet to get back to basics and make something simply for fun. Maybe not? I’m not sure exactly how this wave got started but I’m happy we’re riding it.

Thankfully, this year is no exception. If you haven’t seen it already, I’m happy to report that The Doodle Project is back!

If you’re not familiar, The Doodle Project was started by Dante Zaballa in 2013 and its premise is fairly simple: each animator picks up where the last one left off. With 44 animators creating 2 seconds of animation, the results are varied, span the gamut of different styles and aesthetics, and it’s all definitely worth checking out.

The following is a quick Q&A with Dante about the project and what’s on the horizon for him and The Doodle Project.

Be sure to view the credits below.

Congrats on the second installment of The Doodle Project! Can you tell us how this project originally came about?

Oh! This project started two years ago. I liked the idea of a continuous animation between several people. I had a lot of fun with the first Doodle Project and I was excited to try making a new one.

I was in New York when the first release came out and it made quite a stir in the local community. What has the response to the project been like over the years and have you noticed any changes from 2013 to the present day?

The first edition was a result of my moving to Berlin. I felt like I was in wonderland.

I met so many great artists and I wanted to make something with all of them inspired by the shape-changing character in the movie “Mind Game”.

The second version is completely different from the first one.

This one is oriented to animators, showing us a sneak peek of their personal visual universe for a few seconds as they improvise with what they received from the previous one.

I knew there were similar projects out there but still I was very curious to see how it would work if the animators would have only two seconds each. And adding musicians to the equation.

What was the process like doing outreach and selecting artists to contribute to the series?

I started very simple, just getting in touch with each animator at a time and hoping to have their part finished in their own free time.

After a while I realised this was gonna take a million years to be finished, so I started setting up friendly deadlines for rough animations, so I could pass on a draft to the next artist and save some time in the process.

All in all, it took about two years.

Looking toward the future, do you think there will be another Doodle Project?

I am not sure!

I got really nice responses from people. Everyone seems to be very excited about collaborating and doing fun stuff together with other artists on their free time.

I keep encouraging everyone to give it a try and make your own version of it.

Lastly, what’s next for you?

Oh I just moved to the United States, I am also very curious to see what’s next!

I recently finished a music video for Juana Molina, an Argentinean artist I truly admire which we hope to release in September.

Credits

Types
Elda Broglio – instagram.com/eldabroglio/

Opening text
Osian Efnisien – instagram.com/osian.efnisien/

Audio mastering
Puerto Music – puerto.com.ar/

ANIMATORS
Gabriel Fermanelli (Arg) – gahfe.com
Eze Matteo (Arg) – ezematteo.com/
Anne-Lou Erambert (France) – annelougraoww.tumblr.com/
Guille Comin (Spain) – guillecomin.com/
Max Maleo (France) – instagram.com/maxmaleo/
Simon Appel (Sweden) – instagram.com/simonappel/
Melisa Farina (Arg) – instagram.com/melisa_farina/
Caleb Wood (USA) – kbibwod.com/
Vincent Tsui (France) – vincent-tsui.com/
Emanuel Correa Soto (Arg) – manucorreasoto.com/
Daniel Savage (USA) – somethingsavage.com/
Valentin Stoll (France) – valentinstoll.tumblr.com/
Robert Loebel (Germany) – robertloebel.com/
Adam Black (South Africa) – admblck.tumblr.com/
Debora Cruchon (France) – deboracheyenne.com/
Eze Torres (Arg) – rudocompany.com/
Alex Grigg (Australia) – alexgrigg.com/
Ryoji Yamada (Japan) – ryojiyamada.com/
Masanobu Hiraoka (Japan) – instagram.com/masanobuhiraoka
Leo Campasso (Arg) – leocampasso.com.ar/
Olivia Blanc (France) – cargocollective.com/oliblanc
Max Litnov (Russia) – kclogg.tumblr.com/
Jamie Wolfe (USA) – jamiewolfe.com/
Gonzalo Menevichian (Argentina) – instagram.com/gonzalomenevichian/
Mab Bergara (Argentina) – cancanclub.com.ar/
Olesya Shchukina (Russia) – spitsbergenisland.com/
Sophie Koko (France) – sophiekokogate.com/
Damien Tran (France) – damientran.com/
Mehdi Shiri (Iran) – instagram.com/mehdishirii
Martin Allais (Venezuela) – martinallais.com/
Joel Plosz (USA) – joelplosz.com
Lana Simanenkova (Estonia) – lana.land/
Justin Cassano (USA) – justincassano.tumblr.com/
Claudio Iriarte (Argentina) – claudioiriarte.com/
Lio Skliar (Argentina) – lioskliar.com/
Maximiliano Alejandro Zas (Arg) – instagram.com/dibujarahora/
Becho Lo Bianco (Arg) – cancanclub.com.ar/
Kijek / Adamski (Poland) – kijekadamski.com/
Genis Rigol Alzola (Spain) – genisrigol.com/
Osian Efnisien (UK) – instagram.com/osian.efnisien/
Dan Castro (UK) – mistercastro.co.uk/
Ombrebueno (Spain) – ombrebueno.com/
Luiz Stockler (Brazil/UK) – luizstockler.com/
Dante Zaballa (Arg) – dantezaballa.com/

MUSICIANS
Daniele Carmosino (Italy) – danca.tv/
Mott & White (UK) – mottandwhite.com/
Juan solo (Arg) – perrolobo.com.ar/
Ambrose Yu (US) – ambroseyu.com/
Puerto Music (Argentina) – puerto.com.ar/
Aimar Molero (Spain) – aimar-molero.com
Facundo Capece (Arg) – facundocapece.com/
Simon Appel (Sweden) – instagram.com/simonappel/
Seba Acampante (Arg) – soundcloud.com/acampante
Ilie Honciuc (Rumania) – soundcloud.com/cpti
Robert Loebel (Germany) – robertloebel.com/
Mt. Wave Studio (South Africa) – mountwavemusic.com/
Leo Campasso (Arg) – leocampasso.com.ar/max
Matthew Rappold (USA) – instagram.com/matthewtali_music/
Max Litnov (Russia) – kclogg.tumblr.com/
Gonzalo Menevichian (Arg) – instagram.com/gonzalomenevichian/
Damien Tran (France) – damientran.com/
Martin Allais (Venezuela) – martinallais.com/
Joel Plosz (USA) – joelplosz.com
Maximiliano Alejandro Zas (Arg) – instagram.com/dibujarahora/
Kijek / Adamski (Poland) – kijekadamski.com/

About the author

Joe Donaldson

/ www.joedonaldson.tv
Joe Donaldson is the editor of Motionographer. In addition to leading the content side of the site, he is also a professor at Ringling College of Art and Design working in the Motion Design department. Before joining Ringling, he worked as a director, designer, and animator in Chicago, New York City, and Los Angeles, and has had the honor of directing work for clients such as Apple, Google, Facebook, Instagram, The New York Times and Unicef. In 2018 he started Holdframe.

Join Motionographer on Patreon!

For as little as 7 cents a day, join our Patreon community and shape Motionographer's future!