SXSW 2012: Film Title Design Awards

Our SXSW 2012 coverage begins with the Film Title Design Awards, presented by iStockphoto.

The Film Title Design Awards program is unique among the SXSW screenings in that it opens with a panel discussion. This year the all-star jury was composed of Ian Albinson of Art of the Title, Ben Radatz of MK12 (Stranger Than Fiction), Gareth Smith & Jenny Lee of Smith & Lee Design (Up in the Air), and Kurt Volk of Troublemaker Studios (Machete).

The panel was followed by a screening of the twenty finalists. The styles ranged from epic powerhouse pieces like Elastic’s Game of Thrones and Blur’s The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo to self-initiated projects like James Curran’s take on The Adventures of TinTin and Clemens Wirth’s Herbst.

For excerpts from the panel and viewings of all the finalists, check out our full coverage.

Congratulations to this year’s Winners:

Excellence in Title Design
Les Bleus de Ramville by Jay Bond, Oily Film Company Inc.

Special Jury Recognition
X-Men: First Class by Simon Clowes, Prologue Films

Audience Award Winner
Bunraku by Guilherme Marcondes, Hornet Inc.

One Comment


I can’t understand why Les Bleus de Ramville won???? it’s a nice, tidy title design but it’s outdated, there is nothing special about it,
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo should have been the winner, it’s clean, modern, has breath taking visuals, it’s 2012 people! not 1992!

Comments are closed.